top of page

Who Were The 17 Blessed Irish Martyrs?

The 17 Blessed Irish martyrs were beatified by St. John Paul II at Rome in 1992. Their feast day is June 20th. Among them were three bishops, seven priests, one lay brother, three sailors, one baker, one lord mayor of Dublin and one lady of noble birth. The courage and faith of these intrepid Irish men and women is an inspiration for the Christians of today's world for they were unafraid to suffer on account of their faith, and they chose death rather then renounce Our Lord Jesus Christ. Ultimately, they have demonstrated that for the Christian there is nothing more important than one's relationship with God which they valued even more than life itself.

bottom of page